CED Announces 2016-2017 Board of Directors

Board will support CED’s mission to help entrepreneurial companies scale and grow in North Carolina

DURHAM, NC, June 9, 2016 — The Council for Entrepreneurial Development (CED), the largest and longest-running entrepreneurial network in the nation, today announced its 2016-2017 Board of Directors. In order to strengthen North Carolina’s entrepreneurial ecosystem, CED provides resources and services to propel companies into highly successful businesses. The newly-elected Board of Directors includes a mix of entrepreneurs, investors, and strategic partners who are committed to furthering CED’s mission. Entrepreneurs make up at least one third of the Board members, providing experience and wisdom from some of the most successful entrepreneurs in the state.

The Board unanimously elected Richard West, CEO of Baebies, Inc., as its Chair. West will take over for David Spitz, CEO, ChannelAdvisor who served as Board Chair for the past two years.

“I want to thank David Spitz for his leadership and express my appreciation to those Board members who are completing their terms for their time and effort. I’m impressed with the talent and experience of the incoming Board and expect we will be able to build upon the momentum and success of the past few years,” West said.

Newly elected directors serving two-year terms on CED’s Board include: Tony Atti, president and CEO, Phononic; Bill Brown, CEO, 8 Rivers Capital, LLC; Kimberly Campbell, head of consumer engagement and wellness solutions, Mosaic Health Solutions; Brian Carney, general partner, Harbert Venture Partners; Heather Dean, partner, Hughes Pittman & Gupton LLP; Joy Parr Drach, president and CEO, Advanced Animal Diagnostics; Scott Duda, partner, Cherry Bekaert LLP; Patrick Dunnigan, principal, River Cities Capital Funds; Melvin Hines, CEO and co-founder, Upswing; Justyn Kasierski , partner, Hutchison PLLC; Don Rainey, general partner, Grotech Ventures; Christy Shaffer, general partner, Hatteras Venture Partners; Carolyn Sparano, general manager and vice president, Bronto Software; Courtney Tellefsen, founder & CEO, The Produce Box; Matt Tormollen, executive vice president and general manager, Avalara; and Garret Tripp, senior manager, PwC.

Directors re-elected to another two-year term include: Glen Caplan, shareholder, Robinson, Bradshaw & Hinson; Stephen Fraser, co-founder, Spoonflower; John Glushik, partner, Intersouth Partners; Gary Hayes, COO, Scale Finance; Nick Jordan, CEO, Smashing Boxes; Chris Matton, general counsel, Bandwidth; Spence McClelland, principal, Noro-Moseley Partners; Giles Shih, CEO, BioResource International; Adam Smith, chief revenue officer, Automated Insights; Rik Vandevenne, director, River Cities Capital Funds; Scott E. Weiner, partner, Pappas Ventures; and, Jeff Williams, CEO, Clinipace Worldwide.

Incumbent directors who will serve through 2016 include: DeLisa Alexander, EVP & chief people officer, Red Hat; June S. Almenoff; James Avery, CEO and founder, Adzerk; Elaine D. Bolle, president, RTP Capital Associates; Doug Bowers; Richard Brown, SVP, PNC Bank; Ken Eheman, partner, Wyrick Robbins; Meredith S. Friga, partner, EY; Matt Godwin, vice president, Wells Fargo; Ranya Hahn, director, HR, VIF International Education; Dave Haines, partner, Deloitte; Galen Hatfield, VP, commercial programs, RTI International; Aaron W. Houghton, CEO, BoostSuite; Moise Khayrallah, CEO, QuatroBio LLC; Karen LeVert, president and CEO, Southeast TechInventures Inc.; Sanjay Pal, vice president, Cisco; Kim Phillips, SVP, private client advisor, US Trust, Bank of America; Kevin Prakke, partner, Manning Fulton; Anastasia Pucci, talent acquisition leader, GSK; David Rhode, managing partner, Vaco Raleigh; Michael Saber, partner, Smith Anderson; Joe Schachle, COO, Parion Sciences; Brad Schomber, CFO, MaxPoint Interactive; Mark Self, CEO, Entigral Systems; Jack Sheffield, managing director, DB Securities; Oliver Sherrill, senior VP, regional marketing director, Alexandria Real Estate Equities; William R. Spruill, managing partner, Global Data Consortium; John Stewart,  partner, Dixon Hughes Goodman LLP; Chris Stoecker, vice president, Silicon Valley Bank; Kenneth Tindall, SVP, science & business development, North Carolina Biotechnology Center; Jennifer Wege, grant committee member, Wege Foundation; Allen West, CEO, Railinc; Deb Woods, VP product management, SciQuest; and Ted Zoller, director of the Center for Entrepreneurial Studies, UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School.

The Board elected Dave Haines as Treasurer and Michael Saber as Secretary to serve as officers with Chair Richard West. They will join DeLisa Alexander, Tony Atti, Stephen Fraser, Chris Matton, Giles Shih, Rik Vandevenne, and Jeff Williams on the executive committee of the Board of Directors. Officers and members of the executive committee serve one-year terms. 

get the latest