Council for Entrepreneurial Development (CED) Welcomes 21 New Directors to CED Board

DURHAM, NC, June 20, 2017 — The Council for Entrepreneurial Development (CED), the largest and longest-running entrepreneurial network in the nation, today announced its 2017-2018 Board of Directors. The Board will support CED’s mission to propel emerging North Carolina companies into highly successful businesses. In order to strengthen and grow North Carolina’s entrepreneurial ecosystem, CED provides resources and services to help high-growth, high-impact companies gain traction and scale.

The Board unanimously elected Stephen Fraser, co-founder of Spoonflower, as its Chair. Fraser will take over for Richard West, CEO of Baebies, Inc., who served as Board Chair last year.

“With a new CEO and an exciting new group of directors, CED is poised to renew and expand the support it has long brought to the Triangle’s entrepreneurial community. It is my privilege to serve at a time when we have the opportunity to refine the mission of helping our region’s innovation-based companies. By continuing to bring our success stories to the attention of investors here in North Carolina and outside the state, I believe that CED remains uniquely positioned to help local companies connect and grow,” said Fraser.

Representing both the life science and technology sectors, the twenty-one newly-elected directors include a mix of entrepreneurs, investors, and strategic partners. Directors serving two-year terms on CED’s Board include:

  • Tom Allen, attorney, Wyrick Robbins;
  • Patty Briguglio, president, PFB Connect;
  • Russell Cobb, vice president global alliances & channels, SAS;
  • Alan Dickinson, director of client relations and business development, Manning Fulton & Skinner;
  • David Gardner, managing partner, Cofounders Capital;
  • Rusty Kelley, program officer, Burroughs Wellcome Fund;
  • Joe Lee, executive director, JP Morgan Chase;
  • Philip Lewis, principal, Fulcrum Equity Partners;
  • Steve Malik, executive chairman, Medfusion; chairman and owner, North Carolina Football Club;
  • Matt McCleary, partner, Grant Thornton;
  • Jamey Millar, senior vice president managed markets and government affairs, GSK;
  • Justin Nifong, owner, NK Patent Law;
  • Daniel Pomp, research professor, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill;
  • Pat Scheper, director, Silicon Valley Bank;
  • Drew Schiller, CEO, Validic;
  • Kurt Schmidt, founder and CEO, Sidekick Industries;
  • Richard Shea, president and CEO, Vascular Pharmaceuticals;
  • Michael Sledge, CFO, Duke Clinical Research Institute;
  • Anita Watkins, director of strategic innovation, Rex Health Ventures;
  • Lesley Wilson, vice president, PNC Bank; and
  • Eugene Yamnitsky, director of product management and innovation, Citrix.

Directors re-elected to another two-year term include:

  • James Avery, CEO and founder, Adzerk;
  • Elaine D. Bolle, president, RTP Capital Associates;
  • Meredith S. Friga, partner, EY;
  • Matt Godwin, vice president, Wells Fargo;
  • Ranya Hahn, director of human resources, Participate;
  • Dave Haines, partner, Deloitte;
  • Galen Hatfield, senior vice president of innovation, technology and development, RTI International;
  • Sanjay Pal, vice president, Cisco;
  • Kim Phillips, SVP, private client advisor, US Trust, Bank of America;
  • David Rhode, managing partner, Vaco Raleigh;
  • Michael Saber, partner, Smith Anderson;
  • Joe Schachle, COO, Parion Sciences;
  • Brad Schomber, CFO, MaxPoint Interactive;
  • Mark Self, CEO, Entigral Systems; and
  • Allen West, CEO, Railinc.

Incumbent directors who will serve through 2018 include:

  • Susan Acker-Walsh, managing partner, CREO;
  • DeLisa Alexander, EVP and chief people officer, Red Hat;
  • Tony Atti, president and CEO, Phononic;
  • Bill Brown, CEO, 8 Rivers Capital, LLC;
  • Glen Caplan, shareholder, Robinson, Bradshaw & Hinson;
  • Brian Carney, general partner, Harbert Venture Partners;
  • Heather Dean, partner, Hughes Pittman & Gupton LLP;
  • Joy Parr Drach, president and CEO, Advanced Animal Diagnostics;
  • Scott Duda, partner, Cherry Bekaert LLP;
  • Patrick Dunnigan, principal, River Cities Capital Funds;
  • John Glushik, partner, Intersouth Partners;
  • Kimberly Hames;
  • Gary Hayes, COO, Scale Finance;
  • Melvin Hines, CEO and co-founder, Upswing;
  • Igor Jablokov, CEO, Blackstone Entrepreneurs Network;
  • Nick Jordan, CEO, Smashing Boxes;
  • Justyn Kasierski, partner, Hutchison PLLC;
  • Spence McClelland, principal, Noro-Moseley Partners;
  • Don Rainey, general partner, Grotech Ventures;
  • Christy Shaffer, general partner, Hatteras Venture Partners;
  • Giles Shih, CEO, BioResource International;
  • Adam Smith, chief revenue officer, Automated Insights;
  • Carolyn Sparano, general manager and vice president, Bronto Software;
  • Courtney Tellefsen, founder and CEO, The Produce Box;
  • Matt Tormollen, executive vice president and general manager, Avalara;
  • Garret Tripp, partner, PwC;
  • Scott E. Weiner, partner, Pappas Ventures; and
  • Jeff Williams, CEO, Clinipace Worldwide.

The Board elected Dave Haines as Treasurer and Michael Saber as Secretary to serve as officers with Chair Stephen Fraser. They will join DeLisa Alexander, Tony Atti, Patty Briguglio, David Gardner, Steve Malik, Giles Shih, Anita Watkins, and Jeff Williams on the executive committee of the Board of Directors. Officers and members of the executive committee serve one-year terms.

get the latest