Sixty (60) Entrepreneurs, Investors, and Strategic Partners to Serve on the CED Board

DURHAM, NC, July 3, 2018 — The Council for Entrepreneurial Development (CED) today announced its 2018-2019 Board of Directors. The Board will support CED’s mission to connect entrepreneurial companies with high-value resources to accelerate business growth.

The Board unanimously re-elected Stephen Fraser, Co-founder of Spoonflower, as its Chair for a second one-year term through June 2019.

“This year will be transformative in the growth and trajectory of CED, and I am thrilled to have the support of these directors along the way,” said Ravila Gupta, President & CEO of CED. “It is an honor to keep Stephen Fraser for another year as Board Chair. His leadership and expertise have been major assets to both the Board and the CED staff.”

Eight newly-elected directors include a mix of entrepreneurs, investors, and strategic partners in both the life science and technology sectors. Directors serving two-year terms on CED’s Board include:

  • Carlos Arias, Business Development Manager, Cisco
  • Steve Butts, CEO, Arrivo BioVentures
  • Myla Lai-Goldman, CEO, GeneCentric
  • Allison London Brown, CEO, UVision360
  • John Maddison, Relationship Manager, Balentine
  • Stephanie Nieman, Principal, SJF Ventures
  • William Owens, Partner, BDO USA
  • Anna Tharringon, Partner, Hutchison PLLC

Directors re-elected to another two-year term include:

  • Tony Atti, President & CEO, Phononic
  • Brian Carney, General Partner, Harbert Venture Partners
  • Heather Dean, Tax Partner, HPG
  • Scott Duda, Partner, Cherry Bekaert
  • Patrick Dunnigan, Principal, River Cities Capital Funds
  • Kimberly Hames
  • Joy Parr Drach, President & CEO, Advanced Animal Diagnostics
  • Don Rainey, General Partner, Grotech Ventures
  • Christy Shaffer, General Partner, Hatteras Venture Partners
  • Courtney Tellefsen, Founder & CEO, The Produce Box
  • Matt Tormollen, CEO, DZone
  • Garret Tripp, Partner, PwC
  • Scott Weiner, Partner, Pappas Ventures

Incumbent directors who will serve through 2019 include:

  • DeLisa Alexander, EVP & Chief People Officer, Red Hat
  • Tom Allen, Attorney, Wyrick Robbins
  • James Avery, Founder & CEO, Adzerk
  • Elaine Bolle, President, RTP Capital Associates
  • Paul Boucher, President & CEO, Parion Sciences
  • Patty Briguglio, President, PFB Connect
  • Russell Cobb, VP Global Alliances & Channels, SAS Institute
  • Alan Dickinson, Dir. Of Client Relations & Bus. Dev., Manning Fulton & Skinner
  • Mike Elliott, Managing Partner, Noro-Moseley Partners
  • Meredith Friga, Partner, EY
  • David Gardner, Managing Partner, Cofounders Capital
  • Matt Godwin, Vice President, Wells Fargo
  • Matt Gross, Chief Solutions Officer, Duke Clinical Research Institute
  • Ranya Hahn, Director, Human Resources, Participate
  • David Haines, Partner, Deloitte
  • Rusty Kelley, Vice President Investment & Alliances, Foundation Fighting Blindness
  • Joe Lee, Executive Director, JP Morgan Chase
  • Philip Lewis, Principal, Fulcrum Equity Partners
  • Steve Malik, Exec. Chairman/Chairman & Owner, Medfusion/NC Football Club
  • Matt McCleary, Partner, Grant Thornton
  • Jamey Millar, Sr., VP, Managed Markets & Gov’t. Affairs, GSK
  • Justin Nifong, Owner, NK Patent Law
  • Sanjay Pal, Vice President, IBM
  • Daniel Pomp, Research Professor, UNC-CH
  • Simmi Prasad, Senior VP, Private Client Advisor, US Trust/BOA
  • David Rhode, Managing Partner, Vaco Raleigh
  • Ginger Rothrock, Sr. Dir., Commercialization and Intrapreneurship, RTI International
  • Michael Saber, Partner, Smith Anderson
  • Pat Scheper, Director, Silicon Valley Bank
  • Drew Schiller, CEO, Validic
  • Kurt Schmidt, Founder & CEO, Sidekick Industries
  • Brad Schomber, CFO, Diveplane
  • Mark Self, CEO, Entigral Systems
  • Richard Shea, CEO, Vigor Medical Systems
  • Anita Watkins, Director of Strategic Innovation, Rex Health Ventures
  • Allen West, CEO, Railinc
  • Lesley Wilson, Vice President, PNC Bank
  • Eugene Yamnitsky, Director of Product Mgmnt, and Innovation, Citrix

The Board elected David Haines as Treasurer and Michael Saber as Secretary to serve as officers with Chair Stephen Fraser. They will join DeLisa Alexander, Tony Atti, Paul Boucher, Patty Briguglio, David Gardner, Steve Malik, and Anita Watkins on the executive committee of the Board of Directors. Officers and members of the executive committee serve one-year terms.

About CED

Council for Entrepreneurial Development (CED) connects entrepreneurial companies with high-value resources to accelerate business growth. CED services and programs (including Connections to Capital, Venture Mentoring, and signature conferences) empower member companies to go further faster. Partners of CED are fueling tomorrow’s success stories by investing in today’s ecosystem.

get the latest