Board of Directors

Leading by Example: CED’s All-Star Team of Innovators and Visionaries

Led by some of the area’s most talented and successful entrepreneurs, CED’s Board of Directors is committed to the Triangle’s entrepreneurial future. Board Members are elected to two-year terms and Executive Committee members are selected from the Board to serve one-year terms. 
* = Executive Committee

2017-2018 CED Board of Directors

Board Chair - Stephen Fraser, co-founder, Spoonflower*

Treasurer - Dave Haines, partner, Deloitte*

Secretary - Michael Saber, partner, Smith Anderson*

Newly-elected directors:

Tom Allen, attorney, Wyrick Robbins

Patty Briguglio, president, PFB Connect*

Russell Cobb, vice president global alliances & channels, SAS

Alan Dickinson, director of client relations and business development, Manning Fulton & Skinner

David Gardner, managing partner, Cofounders Capital*

Matt Gross, Chief Solutions Officer, Duke Clinical Research Institute

Rusty Kelley, senior program officer, Burroughs Wellcome Fund

Joe Lee, executive director, JP Morgan Chase

Philip Lewis, principal, Fulcrum Equity Partners

Steve Malik, executive chairman, Medfusion; chairman and owner, North Carolina Football Club*

Matt McCleary, partner, Grant Thornton

Jamey Millar, senior vice president managed markets and government affairs, GSK

Justin Nifong, owner, NK Patent Law

Daniel Pomp, research professor, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Pat Scheper, director, Silicon Valley Bank

Drew Schiller, CEO, Validic

Kurt Schmidt, founder and CEO, Sidekick Industries

Richard Shea, president and CEO, Vascular Pharmaceuticals

Anita Watkins, director of strategic innovation, Rex Health Ventures*

Lesley Wilson, vice president, PNC Bank

Eugene Yamnitsky, director of product management and innovation, Citrix

Directors re-elected to another two-year term:

James Avery, CEO and founder, Adzerk

Elaine D. Bolle, president, RTP Capital Associates

Meredith S. Friga, partner, EY

Matt Godwin, vice president, Wells Fargo

Ranya Hahn, director of human resources, Participate

Galen Hatfield, senior vice president of innovation, technology and development, RTI International

Sanjay Pal, vice president, IBM

Kim Phillips, SVP, private client advisor, US Trust, Bank of America

David Rhode, managing partner, Vaco Raleigh

Joe Schachle, COO, Parion Sciences

Brad Schomber, CFO, MaxPoint Interactive

Mark Self, CEO, Entigral Systems

Allen West, CEO, Railinc

Incumbent directors who will serve through 2018:

Susan Acker-Walsh, managing partner, CREO

DeLisa Alexander, EVP and chief people officer, Red Hat*

Tony Atti, president and CEO, Phononic*

Bill Brown, CEO, 8 Rivers Capital, LLC

Glen Caplan, shareholder, Robinson, Bradshaw & Hinson

Brian Carney, general partner, Harbert Venture Partners

Heather Dean, partner, Hughes Pittman & Gupton LLP

Joy Parr Drach, president and CEO, Advanced Animal Diagnostics

Scott Duda, partner, Cherry Bekaert LLP

Patrick Dunnigan, principal, River Cities Capital Funds

John Glushik, partner, Intersouth Partners

Kimberly Hames

Gary Hayes, COO, Scale Finance

Melvin Hines, CEO and co-founder, Upswing

Igor Jablokov, CEO, Blackstone Entrepreneurs Network

Nick Jordan, CEO, Smashing Boxes

Justyn Kasierski, partner, Hutchison PLLC

Spence McClelland, principal, Noro-Moseley Partners

Don Rainey, general partner, Grotech Ventures

Christy Shaffer, general partner, Hatteras Venture Partners

Giles Shih, CEO, BioResource International*

Adam Smith, chief revenue officer, Automated Insights

Carolyn Sparano, general manager and vice president, Bronto Software

Courtney Tellefsen, founder and CEO, The Produce Box

Matt Tormollen, executive vice president and general manager, Avalara

Garret Tripp, partner, PwC

Scott E. Weiner, partner, Pappas Ventures

Jeff Williams, CEO, Clinipace Worldwide*